Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Monday, 06 July 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Who is after your vote?

THIRTY-NINE people from six parties are competing for your vote today in the Cumbria County Council elections.

There are 12 each from Labour and the Conservatives, six Greens, four from UKIP and the British National Party and one Liberal Democrat. The count takes place at Egremont Market Hall from 10am tomorrow (Friday).

There will be at least four new Copeland faces on the council. John Woolley (Mirehouse), Sue Brown (Seascale and Whicham) and Ray Cole (Millom) are not standing for re-election, and Cam Ross (Distington) sadly died in January.

The full council is made up of 84 members.

In 2012/13, each councillor received a basic allowance of £8,030 – with special responsibility allowances paid to members of various committees – and newly-elected members will vote on allowances at the first meeting of the full council on May 16.

BRANSTY: Graham Roberts (Con) and Eileen Weir (Lab)
CLEATOR MOOR WEST: Robert Currie (Con), Jennifer Matthys (BNP) and Frank Morgan (Lab)
CLEATOR MOOR EAST AND FRIZINGTON: Tim Knowles (Lab), Genna Martin (Con), Sarah Millar (Green), Mike Minogue (Lib Dem) and Daniel Verity (BNP)
EGREMONT: Erica Flint (Green), Sheena Gray (Con), David Southward (Lab) and Pamela Tyson (UKIP)
EGREMONT NORTH AND ST BEES: Lorraine Armstrong (UKIP), Christopher Whiteside (Con) and Henry Wormstrup (Lab)
GOSFORTH: Norman Clarkson (Con) and Christopher Ross (Lab)
HILLCREST AND HENSINGHAM: Christine Wharrier (Lab) and Andrew Wonnacott (Con)
HOWGATE: Stephen Haraldsen (Con), Susan Hayman (Lab) and Richard Scrivener (Green)
KELLS AND SANDWITH: Frank Nicholson (BNP), Wendy Skillicorn (Lab), Ian St. John (Green) and Brigid Whiteside (Con)
MILLOM: Denise Burness (Lab), Brian Crawford (Con), Susan Day (UKIP) and Neil Wilson (Green)
MILLOM WITHOUT: Margaret Barnes (Lab), Lynette Gilligan (Green) and Keith Hitchen (Con)
MIREHOUSE: Michael Hawkins (Lab), Philip Holmes (BNP), Ian Jenkinson (UKIP) and Jane Micklethwaite (Con)

Also on May 2, a Copeland Council by-election will be held to fill the Hensingham seat vacated by Norman Williams, who resigned in February. The candidates are Allan Forster (Lab) and Genna Martin (Con).


Hot jobs
Search for:
Whitehavennews Newspaper