Whitehaven Rugby League has today announced that its chairman has officially resigned from his post and four directors have joined him.

Whitehaven RL chairman Tom Todd announced his intention to resign last week amidst internal conflicts at the club but was asked to reconsider.

Haven have today announced that Todd has made a final decision to resign and four directors from the board have followed him.

As well as Todd, Steve Nicholson, Peter Boyle, Andrew Airlie, and Paul Shepherd have all resigned "with immediate effect."

A spokesperson for the club said: "Once again, we ask for time to rectify and move forward. We would like to assure fans that Sunday’s game will be going ahead as planned.

"We will comment further in due course."