Wednesday’s Mixed Tee Stableford at Seascale Golf Club was played in hot sunny conditions.

It saw a record 175 players compete and return some impressive scores. Aaron Lewthwaite (2)45 won the first division and saw his handicap reduce to 1. Don Weavers (7)42 secured second place with Jonathon Lymer (5), Craig Connor (3), Dave Kilgour (6) and Mickey Benn (5), all with 41pts, taking the remaining four prizes.

Division two winners were, in order, Ryan Lightfoot (11)43, Patrick Wood (13)42, Ian Rosewarne (11)42, Malcolm Anderson (12)39, Liam Towers (12)39 and Mathew Risk (11)39.

The day’s best came in division three where James Edwards (23) returned an amazing 48pts to win by four clear points, and earn himself a four shot handicap reduction. He was followed by James Morgan (15)44, Robert Brough (17)43, Graeme Cowen (21)42, David Mellon (27)41 and Greg Fitzwilliam (15)41.

Special mention must be made of Scott Mahaffy (1) who, in the Centenary Medal competition last week, returned a gross 66, to win his division and produce the best gross of the year to date. Having just missed out in the prizes in this competition, he returned no fewer than three of the 15 twos, at the fifth, eighth and 13th holes.

The Aggregate Medal on Sunday was cancelled due to the gales and rain.