Workington’s Station Road A are the new Window Outlet Cockermouth and District Snooker League division two champions.

A 4-2 win against division two rivals Maryport Social A sees the table-toppers a massive 14 points in front of their opponents – and with just six points on offer in the final round of the league season it was time to celebrate for the town outfit.

Station A have been simply superb all season and had it not been for the leagues cross divisional two tier format they would be facing the division one leaders, and club rivals Station Road B, in a final fixture title showdown as they have accumulated just one point fewer.

That aside their ultra consistent play from start to finish this term was again demonstrated in this week’s win.

Victories for Darren Lawson, John Teasdale, Mike Walker and Geoff Smith was enough to secure the division two title with Ryan Ismay, who cemented his place as division two leading player, and Paul Lister offering the only Maryport A resistance.

Division one’s Veterans Club put a hold on fellow townies and league leaders Station Road B’s title celebrations with a 4-2 home win. The defeat nevertheless still sees Station B hold a four point lead over second placed Workington Conservative Club and barring a disaster next week Station B will be marking a brilliant club league title double.

The match saw Mark Tatton, Mike Dawson, Kevin Basnett and Craig Davies all win for Vets as Leigh Musgrave (with a quality 31 break) and Shaun Ayre scoring Station B’s two victories. The result means Vets are assured of a fourth place play-off spot.

Workington Golf Club managed a 4-2 home win against fellow division one side Flimby Social Club but slipped into third place in the table.

The defeat for Flimby means they cannot improve on their relegation place in what can only be described as an up and down season for the Social side. Bryan Walker, Phil Sorfleet, Mark Cowen and Ian Fulton were the Golf Club’s victors with Paul Vickers (30 break) and Geoff Banton offering Flimby’s rearguard.

Division one’s Workington Conservative Club moved up into second place in division one with a 5-1 win against division two’s United Club.

Willie Fearon did manage to win the first frame for Workington’s United Club but as Richard McCarthy, Julian Plaza, Alan Moore, Ryan Barker and Mike Park won the remaining frames the United Club side were left stunned. The United Club drop down one place in to a division two third spot.

Finally, Maryport Social B recorded a 5-1 home win over Workington Legion in the all division two fixture and need only a point from their final match to make the division’s top four play-offs.

Ben Scott, Andrew Sharp, Ben Irving, Andrew Scott and Rhys Dean all won for Maryport B with Ian Torley being Legion’s only victor.

All fixtures, results and KO draws can be seen on the leagues website at