The Window Outlet Cockermouth and District Snooker League stepped aside this week as the final Eric McMullen Memorial Trophy qualifying games took place.

In the first group one qualifying matches Workington Conservative Club needed to win with a better scoreline than Station Road A to guarantee their semi-final place and with a 6-1 away victory over Workington Legion they did just that.

Wins from Dave Holland, Ryan Barker, Mike Park, Richard McCarthy and Alan Moore (34 break) in the singles saw a 5-0 lead established. A victory for Chris Hunter and Andrew McMullen in the first of the doubles averted the whitewash but Ryan Barker (43 break) and Mike Park ensured the Cons went through.

In the other game, Workington Golf Club defeated Station Road A 6-1 however with Workington Veterans Club already on three wins out of four, it was not enough for the golfers to go through.

Wins for Mark Cowan, Bryan Walker, Ian Fulton and Phil Sorfleet gave the Golf Club a good lead going into the doubles, one that was only separated with a frame three triumph by Station A’s John Teasdale. The doubles followed suit and Bryan Walker/Mark Carruthers and Stephen Jackson/Ian Fulton completed the win. There was some consolation for both teams as their third and fourth positions in the table took them through to the plate.

In group two with Flimby Social already through, there was only one semi final place to play for as Maryport Social A faced the United and Station Road B took on Maryport Social B.

Maryport Social A took full advantage of their home tie and with a 5-2 scoreline they claimed the remaining semi final place. In the final game Workington’s Station Road B won 5-2 against Maryport Social B and also made it into the plate in third spot.