A TOTAL of 20 teams have been confirmed for the first season of the 1895 Cup by the RFL.

Eight Betfred League One teams, including Whitehaven and Workington Town, will come in at the first-round stage with ties to be played on the weekend of May 4 and 5.

The four teams to qualify from round one will then join the 12 Championship sides in the last 16, which will include Barrow Raiders. Those ties are due to be played between June 2 and 5.

The draw for the first round is due to be made early in April, with the second round draw in May.

Full list of teams

First round (May 4-5): Doncaster, Hunslet, Keighley Cougars, Newcastle Thunder, Oldham, West Wales Raiders, Whitehaven, Workington Town.

Second round (June 2-5): Barrow Raiders, Batley Bulldogs, Bradford Bulls, Dewsbury Rams, Featherstone Rovers, Halifax, Leigh Centurions, Rochdale Hornets, Sheffield Eagles, Swinton Lions, Widnes Vikings, York City Knights, plus the first-round winners.