FC COSMOS have been crowned the 2020-2021 Egremont & District Sunday League champions.

They defeated rivals Thornhill FC in the play-off final at Mirehouse in some style.

In this most unusual of seasons, it was great to see a competition played out to a conclusion, and with Thornhill and Cosmos having ended the season level on points at the top of the table, the league went to a play-off.

The two league games between the two finalists ended with a 2-2- draw at Frizington and a 3-1 win for Thornhill at home, and this was expected to be a close affair.

But it ended up with an emphatic win for FC Cosmos, with the 7-1 scoreline a fair result on the day from a one sided match which Cosmos increasingly dominated.

After a frantic first ten minutes in the glorious sunshine, Cosmos had a 2-1 lead and never looked back, with the first half ending with Cosmos 3-1 up.

Cosmos cruised to victory and the title in the second half with four more unanswered strikes with Thornhill repeatedly trying to hold back waves of orange.

The Cosmos goals were from an excellent John Sparks brace, Ben Graham, Tom Powell, Owen Woods, Josh Atkinson and Jason Connery.

Thornhill’s early consolation goal came from Jordan Bowness.