A Whitehaven town councillor has resigned, citing differences of opinion as her reason for leaving.

Councillor Carla Arrighi, for the harbour ward, has served on the town council since it formed in 2015.

She said: “It is with deepest regret that I have to announce my resignation.

“When I stood for election for the council back in 2015, I felt that I – and this council – could make a difference to my beloved home town, where my family has had a business for over 100 years.”

She referred to disruptive and confrontational behaviour at town council meetings as her reason for leaving. Coun Arrighi said she feels she has no choice but to stand down.

She says she is eternally grateful to the people who voted for her.

Coun Arrighi said she remains committed to Whitehaven through her role on Copeland Council, and she has “switched her allegiance” from an independent member to the Conservative Party.

This will be the third resignation from Whitehaven Town Council since January.

Darren Elliot, who represents the Hensingham ward, has recently resigned due to other commitments.

His departure follows the resignation of Norman Williams, for the Mirehouse ward, in late January.

Following Coun Arrighi and Coun Elliot’s resignations, there is an opportunity for 10 or more people, in each ward, to call for an election. If this happens, there would have to be a by-election in either one or both wards.

Hensingham residents have until Monday, May 8 to write to Copeland Council and Harbour residents have until Monday, May 15.

If electors do not call for an election, the town council would have to co-opt a town councillor instead.

Following Mr Williams’ resignation, the community called for a by-election to be held for the seat. This will be held next Thursday.

Three independent candidates are standing for the post: Siobhan Gearing, of Meadow Road, Whitehaven; Charles Maudling, of Sea Lane, Coulderton and Stuart Trevaskis, of Gable Road, Whitehaven.