New members have been elected to Whitehaven Town Council and Copeland council.

Elections were held at the same time as the General Election.

Independent candidate Charles Maudling was elected onto the Harbour ward for Whitehaven Town Council.

He received 1,083 votes and Nicholas Woodcock (Ind) received 874 votes.

There was 92 rejected ballot papers.

Tony Lowrey (Ind) was elected onto the Hensingham ward for Whitehaven Town Council.

He received 1,603 votes and Christopher Ross (Ind) received 221 votes. There was 106 rejected ballot papers.

Conservative Ged McGrath was elected on to Copeland Council for the Newtown ward, with 954 votes.

Also standing was Angela Dixon (Lab) who received 601 votes.

There were 16 rejected ballot papers.