Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Wednesday, 08 July 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Celebrating 30 years of Copeland netball

A CELEBRATION of 30 years of netball in Copeland has taken place.

It was born from the inspiration of Wendy Evans, Dorothy Haslett and Christine Tyson – and the fixtures were played at St Benedict’s School

Teams from the early years were: 7 Up A & B, Young Gryphons, Gryphon A & B, Frizington, Sellafield A & B – none of whom exist in their original form today – there are however some players from those days still in action: Joanne Crowe and Gill McAllister (Hall Park); Iris Carruthers (Second Chance); Chris Burton (Blue Belles).

In the early 90s, the League moved to Whitehaven Sports Centre to extend the playing time and the League became affiliated to England Netball and umpires and coaches began to gain qualifications to ensure good standards were embraced.

League Winners Division 1 – Hall Park Hotel

League Runners Up Division 1 – Wyndham Ladies

League Winners Division 2 – Jumping Jacks

League 2 Runners Up - Southfield

Handicap League Winners – Southfield

Handicap League Runners Up - Warriors

Player of the Year - Rebecca Gullaine of Jumping Jacks

Division 1 Player of the Year – Gemma Robinson of Hall Park Hotel

Division 2 Player of the Year – Holly Freestone of Warriors

Junior Player – Shelby Hawkins of Southfield

Most Improved Player – Gina Metcalf of Jumping Jacks

Most Improved Team - Magpies

Fair Play Player – Zoe Morley of Southfield

Fair Play Team - Warriors

Umpire of the Year – Jane Fox of All Saints

Services to the League – Laura Gribbin (Results Secretary) of Pink Panthers

A big thanks to Whitehaven News editor Colin Edgar for presenting the awards and also the working committee – Fiona Temple, Helen stout, Paula Ratcliffe, Kelly Atkinson, Laura Gribbin, Diane parks, Andrea Davidson, Kim Miller, Joanne Crowe, Emma Jackson and Sonia Dryden for their hard work and dedication ensuring tonight was a success.


Hot jobs
Search for:
Whitehavennews Newspaper