Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Saturday, 04 July 2015

Subscriptions  |  evouchers  |  Jobs  |  Property  |  Motors  |  Travel  |  Dating  |  Family Notices

Major shake-up expected after elections

AT least a dozen new faces will occupy seats on Copeland Borough Council after the electorate has been to the polls in three weeks’ time.

Following last week’s nominations deadline, the final list of candidates reveals that a number of long-serving borough councillors are calling it a day, while others are not seeking re-election to focus on their Cumbria County Council seats.

Ninety-five candidates – Labour 45, Conservative 37, Independent four, BNP four, Green three and Liberal Democrat two – are competing for the 51 seats on the council for the next four years.

Big changes are afoot in Egremont, where three long-serving councillors have decided the time is right to stand down.

Husband and wife, Peter and Connie Watson, will not seek re-election for the seats for Egremont South.

The third current councillor in this ward, this year’s mayor Mike McVeigh (Lab), is seeking to retain his seat, while the Watsons will be replaced by two newcomers out of five candidates; Nicola Hewitt (Ind), Lena Hogg (Lab), Elizabeth Hutson (Con), Graham Hutson (Con) and Carole Woodman (Lab).

In Egremont North, Margaret Woodburn is not standing for one of the three seats.

Two other current incumbents – council leader Elaine Woodburn (Lab) and Sam Mateer (Ind) – are seeking re-election however, alongside Karl Connor (Lab), John Postlethwaite Holmes (Con) and Sam Pollen (Lab).

Former mayor Willis Metherell, who was Copeland’s first citizen in 2006/07, has opted not to stand in Distington in next month’s borough elections.

The ward’s three seats will be fought for by Jackie Bowman (Lab), John Bowman (Lab), Brian Dixon (Ind), Sheena Gray (Con), Frank Hollowell (Lib) and Simon Leyton (Lab).

In Mirehouse, Eddie Brenan will not seek re-election. Former mayor Anne Faichney (Lab) and Paul Whalley (Lab) are candidates to retain their seats, and will be challenged by George Benson (BNP), Peter Kane (Lab) and Jim King (Con).

Sandwith will have at least one new representative following Jim Prince’s decision to step down.

Peter Tyson (Lab) – the deputy mayor elect for 2011/12 – is standing to retain his seat.

The other candidates are Adrian Davis-Johnston (Con), John Dirom (Con), Malcolm Southward (BNP) and Peter Stephenson (Lab).

Cath Giel is not standing for her seat on Cleator Moor South, leaving current incumbent Dave Banks (Lab), Colin Boyton (BNP), David Riley (Lab) and David Walker (Con) competing for two seats, while Alexander Carroll (Con), who represented Bransty in 2007-11, is standing instead for Cleator Moor North.

And four councillors who did double duty on Cumbria County Council and Copeland Borough Council in the last term have stood down from their borough roles; Tim Knowles (Frizington), Andrew Wonnacott (Hillcrest), Ray Cole (Newtown) and Norman Clarkson (St Bees).

Paul Walker, Copeland Council’s chief executive, said: “I would like to thank all Copeland councillors for their hard work over the last four years and especially since I joined Copeland.

“I have found the welcome and level of support and commitment that councillors have given very impressive.

“We know that Copeland will have a number of new councillors from May 5 and I look forward to working with councillors old and new to move Copeland forward and deliver our ambitions for the borough in the future.”

In 2007, Labour retained control of the council with 31 seats to the Conservatives’ 19. Arlecdon’s Graham Sunderland was the only Independent.

Polling will take place throughout May 5, and the results will be declared in Whitehaven Civic Hall around lunchtime the following day.

Have your say

Why are some people so quick to criticise when it is clear they have no idea on the role or responsibility of a councillor.
Those who put themselves forward are in a no win situation, making decisions is a necessity and whatever you decide you will never satisfy everyone, short term pain can lead to long term gain. Look at Whitehaven 3 years from now when the redevelopment programme is complete then pass judgement, I for one honestly believe we will have a town to be proud of.


Posted by Johntyk on 17 April 2011 at 01:33

Praying: I think we all should be, or asking them to give the money back.

Posted by Chuck on 15 April 2011 at 17:07

View all 9 comments on this article

Make your comment

Your name

Your Email

Your Town/City

Your comment


Hot jobs
Search for:
Whitehavennews Newspaper